Boston, MA
Residence Inn Back Bay-Fenway
Scope/Solutions
Located near Fenway Park and Kenmore Square, Residence Inn Back Bay-Fenway is a 175-room, extended-stay hotel. The 117,000 sq ft, eight-story building includes below-grade parking, ground-floor retail, an indoor swimming pool, and a rooftop terrace. SGH consulted on the building enclosure design.
SGH assisted with designing the building enclosure, including below-grade waterproofing, wall and fenestration systems, terrace and balcony waterproofing, and roofing. Highlights of our work include the following:
- Reviewing the enclosure design and providing recommendations to improve performance
- Developing details to integrate the various enclosure systems
- Reviewing the design for interior walls separating dissimilar environments, including the indoor pool enclosure
- Evaluating and establishing criteria for heat flow, vapor diffusion, air leakage, and waterproofing
- Calculating as-designed exterior wall assembly U-Factors for energy code compliance
- Providing construction administration services, including reviewing contractor submittals, shop drawings, and requests for information about the building enclosure and visiting the site to review construction progress to compare with the design intent
- Conducting field air and water infiltration testing of curtain wall systems
Project Summary
Solutions
New Construction
Services
Building Enclosures | Performance & Code Consulting
Markets
Commercial
Client(s)
Group One Partners, Inc.
Specialized Capabilities
Building Science | Roofing & Waterproofing | Energy & Sustainability
Key team members
Additional Projects
Northeast
238 Main Street
SGH provided building enclosure commissioning services for the building at 238 Main Street, featuring high-performance unitized curtain wall systems and existing mass masonry walls.
Northeast
G. Fox Building
As part of this effort of the historic G. Fox building, SGH assessed the condition of the building enclosure for the 11-story, 850,000 sq ft building, which included the original building and two additions dating back to 1938 and 1960.




