Photo by Thomas Mayer
The original museum opened in Golden Gate Park in 1895. Damaged beyond repair by the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake, the building was demolished in 2000 to make way for a new 292,000 sq ft building containing 116,000 sq ft of gallery and education space. Designed by the Swiss architectural team of Herzog & de Meuron, the contemporary structure features a 160 ft observation tower offering stunning views of San Francisco. SGH consulted on the building enclosure for the copper-clad museum.